Fish day : Steamed salmon with seaweed tartare sauce

GOURMANDE in OSAKA

Fish and seaweeds on the plate today.
Are there still Catholics that follow the tradition of eating fish on Fridays ? That was like a law when I was a kid and even at school they’d put fish on the menu that day. Well, they had not their concept of food industry fish. It’s a square or rectangle animal that lives in icebergs and is covered by a fur of fried bread crumbs. Nothing like that here. I’ve bought a back of Hokkaido salmon and I’ve cut it in rectangles myself, not to imitate, but I had enough for a dozen of servings. I froze some.

It’s not an Halloween sushi, but…

The sauce is only tartare by the name. It is made by mixing in a blender, blanched favas (broad beans) with rice vinegar, water, salt, pepper. Then I’ve added a big spoon of aonori seaweed flakes to bring…

View original post 59 more words

Leave a Reply

