Matcha tres leches

DSC09037-001

DSC09042-001

My second tres leches cake has a Japanese tea twist.

The idea of adding tea was good, but this recipe has a big flaw, read at the end.

More about “tres leches” cake and basic recipe.

DSC09005-001

I made a simple cake with flour, baking powder and matcha green tea.

DSC09007-001

DSC09010-001

The cake was nice and fluffy but it didn’t hold its shape as well as the classic one when soaked.

DSC09012-001

Syrup of tres leches (3 milks) :
condensed milk + cow milk + DIY almond milk.

DSC09014-001

I had a leftover of syrup that I thickened with potato starch. I’ve used it to fill between the 2 layers of biscuit.

DSC09038-001

As you can see the filling became runny and the cake more like a pudding. But I liked the almond flavored matcha au lait taste.

Verdict : good in taste, not great in texture. Next time, I won’t use that type of biscuit. I think the basic sponge (biscuit de Savoie with egg) or okara cake keep their texture better when soaked.

DSC09047-001

2 thoughts on “Matcha tres leches

Leave a Reply

