Sakura kit

GOURMANDE in OSAKA

DSC06925-001
DSC07064-001

I’m equipped for the cherry blossom season that is looming… It’s really early this year. I’ve seen only pink ones so far, but within a few days, the country will be white.

DSC07071-001

Japanese sakura sweets are flavored with pickles made the year before. I should make mines maybe, but well I’ve bought some. さくらの花(塩漬け), cherry blossom, pickled in salt.

DSC07075-001

The leaves are also pickled but less salty.

DSC07077-001

The flowers in the bin.

DSC07220-001

They need a rinsing.

DSC07054-001

Then you add petals to some food, let a pair of hours and they are magically flavored. You’ll see that in future posts.

DSC07313-001

干菓子higashi (dry sweets) to go with matcha. I didn’t make those either.

Wagashi Saga : Japanese sweet posts and tutorials.

DSC07079-001

View original post

One thought on “Sakura kit

  1. Haven’t read your blog for a long time! I hope you are well.
    I wish I can get these pickled sakura flower. I did try to pickle local cherry tree leaves once..It wasn’t edible! But it scented quite nice!

Leave a Reply

