Namul, Koreanizing the veggies

GOURMANDE in OSAKA

DSC00644-001

Here is a plate generously filled with decadent veggies, and that’s only one serving. I don’t know why but when the Koreans prepare vegetables, they change them so much that I have the impression of eating dessert. But you never have too many veggies. So let’s make a ton !

They can be served as banchan (sides) or used to make a :

DSC00667-001bibimbap (click here tomorrow)

DSC00653-001

The vegetables are raw or lightly cooked (blanched/steamed). I flavor them with fragrant sesame oil, soy sauce, grated garlic and dry chili. If I have some, a little grated yuzu zest doesn’t hurt. Then top with toasted sesame seeds. I try to use little salt, since I will eat a lot. Now there are many good low sodium soy sauces.

DSC00652-001

I’ve let these raw.

DSC00655-001

The greens of the turnip. I have steamed them slightly.

DSC00654-001

I’ve bought this sprouted soy bean kimchi.

DSC00607-001

ゼンマイ zenmai

View original post 26 more words

Leave a Reply

