Simple retro Christmas night (1)

That’s not the a party in Japan, that was just for the fun traditions. That seems very frugal. That depends on your point of comparison. Most people in Japan simply ate fried chicken, yes, the infamous fast-food bucket of greasy starch with bits of meat sometimes hidden in the middle. Ads tell them you should have chicken for Xmas. I’ll ignore that trend.

This is the menu :
Salade composée aux oeufs de saumon
Jambon en croûte aux marrons (chesnut ham pie)
13 desserts

That’s short, because there are 13 desserts and even if that’s not what you may imagine, I didn’t want to burst.

I know my candles look even more retro. Caveman style. That’s a mistake. I thought I have bought a pack of plate-warmer candles. I could have put them inside glasses, that’s pretty. But when I opened the package I saw those what-you-call them to cook a fondue. At least, I had a Christmas fire.

Salmon eggs are not caviar, but they used to be a rarity, something for occasions. I like them anyway.
That couldn’t be simpler. Salad, radish, croûtons and salmon eggs.

The rest of the meal in next posts :

4 thoughts on “Simple retro Christmas night (1)

  1. Pingback: Fêtes . Dinners of Holiday. Many IDs, change of style. « GOURMANDE in OSAKA

Leave a comment