Chaudrée de saumon (salmon and root chowder)

A meal soup with healthy salmon. It’s the season for Hokkaido salmon now.

Lots of bones and skin in the fish. I got the parts left after they cut the squares for sashimi and sushi. It’s very cheap and ideal for this recipe. Boiled that with carrot and satoimo (taro).
For flavor : 1/2 ts of anise seeds.

I don’t want to eat over-boiled fish, so after it changed of color, I scraped the flesh and put back only bones and skin into the soup. I got all that flesh.
Then I’ve let the soup simmer.

The veggies became very tender.

The satoimo became very tender, and gray blue in shade.

After clearing the soup from fish bones, I reheated everything, with some napa cabbage.

The milky color of the soup comes from oats. I milled 2 tbs and added to the soup.
Final tuning : salt, pepper, 1 tbs of Ricard anise liquor. And on the plates a few more anise seeds.
Then mmm… mmm… mmm…

2 thoughts on “Chaudrée de saumon (salmon and root chowder)

  1. Pingback: First Frenchy « GOURMANDE in OSAKA

Leave a comment